RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Jeff Healey -  As The Years Go Passing By: Live in Germany 1989 – 1995 – 2000

Rating: A

Jeff Healey played guitar like no one else—literally.  The blind Canadian guitarist felt his way around the fret board with the guitar on his lap.  His unconventional style and his amazing vocals made him interesting to watch, but it was the music that he made that was truly special.  He loved the blues and you could feel the emotion dripping out of his very being every time he picked up his guitar.  This man was a true talent that the world lost way too soon.  

On March 2, 2008, Healey died of cancer in his hometown of Toronto.  He was only 41 years old.  Now, a 3-disc set has been released of three live concerts that Jeff performed in Germany over the course of his career.  The release is done in conjunction with his estate. 

“With the fifth anniversary of Jeff’s passing coming up on 2nd March 2013, we were looking for a special way to commemorate and help celebrate Jeff’s life and legacy,” says Jeff’s widow, Cristie Healey. “In preparing for this release, it was important to include the participation of as many of the performers involved as possible. Jeff’s friends and colleagues have enthusiastically shared their memories of the concerts which help to make this rare live compilation extra special.” 

“The Jeff Healey Estate is very proud to endorse this release. It’s the first collection of archive material to be officially released with the approval of the Healey Family since Jeff left us all too soon. We are privileged to continue the legacy of his immense efforts, incredible talent and sheer love of music, for everyone to enjoy.” 

The concerts span from 1989 to 2000 showing the guitarist at different eras of his career.  The concerts are as you heard them with no overdubs or studio trickery.  Simply put, this is a great way to remember the music of one of the most unique guitarists to ever grace the stage.  

Disc 1: Ohne Filter Extra (May 10, 1989) 

Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. I’m Torn Down
2. My Little Girl
3. Confidence Man
4. I Need To Be Loved
5. When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
6. River Of No Return
7. Angel Eyes
8. Roadhouse Blues
9. See The Light

Disc 2: Extraspät in Concert (April 2, 1995)

Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Pat Rush – Guitar
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. Got A Line On You
2. Stop Breaking Down
3. As The Years Go Passing By
4. Confidence Man
5. Stuck In The Middle
6. Angel
7. Yer Blues
8. Me And My Crazy Self
9. Angel Eyes
10. Roadhouse Blues
11. See The Light
12. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Disc 3: Ohne Filter Extra (October 31, 2000) 

Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Philip Sayce – Guitar
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. My Little Girl
2. Which One
3. Love Is The Answer
4. How Blue Can You Get
5. Confidence Man
6. Put The Shoe On The Other Foot
7. Feel Better
8. Angel Eyes
9. Roadhouse Blues

By Jeb Wright