RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

dUg Pinnick – Naked

Rating: B

dUg Pinnick is naked on his new album. 

No, there are not any sausage shots you sick perverts…get your mind out of the gutter! 

We are talking metaphorically, you know, emotionally stripped down to the core.  And the album is named Naked. For anything else, you would have to visit his Facebook and ask him for a shot.  He may not be up for it, but, then again, you never know.

You would be better off just buying the CD titled Naked and rocking out and, if you’re so inclined, I suppose you could imagine dUg naked, if you so wish.  Or, like me, you can just enjoy the music and be glad he is wearing pants.  Not that I am hating on dUg, I am sure plenty of people would love the whole naked thing, but it’s not my style, so to speak.  Well, naked is fine…just not dUg…nothing against him…happily married man I am, so that is what I am trying to say!

Back to the review…Naked is a very personal collection of songs by Pinnick.  On Naked, dUg digs deep and the results are songs that are very emotional.  He lays it out there discussing all aspects of his life and confronting all of his demons in song.  The music grooves, rocks, is heavy and dominating at times, but other times is quite and sublime. 

This album is, for dUg Pinnick, a musical mirror of his very soul.  Much like the man, the music is intense, emotionally overwhelming and, at times, very funny. The songs are so autobiographical that one feels as if they are living in dUg’s mind, which can be a scary place, not meant for beginners in emotional therapy. 

“What You Gonna Do?” sees Pinnick facing the fact that he has to move forward without worrying about the next tune, “If You Fuk Up.”  He has to find “Courage.”   The song may say, “I’m Not Gonna Freak Out” but dUg freaks out!  Seriously, dUg bared his soul on this album, so suffice it to say, this is an intense rock and roll ride, start to finish.

It is rare when an artist gets this real with his fans.  But, then again, dUg Pinnick is not your average artist—thank God for that.  In fact, he is one of a kind and something special, even when naked.

1. What You Gonna Do?
2. If You Fuk Up
3. Speeding Love
4. Courage
5. Ain't That The Truth
6. The Great Big Thing
7. The Point
8. Take Me Away From You
9. I Hope I Don't Lose My Mind
10. Heart Attack
11. I'm Not Gonna Freak Out

By Jeb Wright