RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Anvil – Hope in Hell
The End Records

Rating: B

Canadian rockumentary darlings Anvil are back with their latest offering, Hope in Hell on The End Records.  The band is made up of guitarist/vocalist Steve ‘Lips’ Kudlow, drummer Robb Reiner and their new bassist Sal Italiano.  Lips and Rob guide the music down familiar territory. 

One thing about Anvil, is that they are consistent.  Sure, its loud, its old school Metal and it is even a tad Spinal Tap, but it is also, loud, old school Metal and a tad Spinal Tap!  The point being that some things should NOT change, they should stay true to who they are and they should be what one would expect.  Anvil falls into this category.

And while they are not reinventing the electric guitar the album is actually damn good.  Lips playing is strong throughout and the rhythmic, sonic blasts coming out of the speakers are distorted paradise to fans of the band.  Just check out “The Fight is Never One,” “Badass Rock N Roll” and “Shut the Fuck Up” and the points taken in this review are all well proven.

Anvil continues on their lifelong quest of World Metal Domination and while that may never actually happen, that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t try.  This is meat and potatoes Heavy Metal played by a band of brothers that are still hungry.  Sit down to the table and enjoy this one.

Anvil is a fun band and Hope in Hell yet another fun album.

Hope in Hell track listing:
01. Hope in Hell
02. Eat Your Words
03. Through With You
04. The Fight Is Never Won
05. Pay The Toll
06. Flying
07. Call Of Duty
08. Badass Rock N Roll
09. Time Shows No Mercy
10. Mankind Machine
11. Shut The Fuck Up
12. Hard Wired (bonus track)
13. Fire At Will (bonus track)