RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Black Label Society – Unblackened
Entertainment One

Rating: B+

This album, also released on video, but reviewed here as a double-cd, is the latest from former Ozzy guitar slinger Zakk Wylde’s Black Label Society.  Once a side project, BLS has taken over the Metal world as Wylde has become a larger than life, iconic musician, songwriter and band leader. 

While most know of BLS for their ball in a meat grinder, pounding Metal, Zakk has always been more than a one dimensional musician.  He has been careful to keep his Les Paul cranked up to 11, but also never been afraid to put his dick on chopping block when it comes to taking musical risks.  He has yet to fail, as this album sees him doing mostly acoustic versions of many Black Label classics.

One may think that mellowing the tunes down might hurt his reputation as a bad ass, bearded, madman.  Well, it does, somewhat.  But it raises him up several notches as a musician and an artist. 

Recorded at Club Nokia, in Los Angeles, earlier in 2013, this set of music was performed to show fans that BLS has many sides to them and that they are not afraid to lay it out there.  Now, there are still tons of distorted guitar solos…its not like Zakk and band became Simon and fucking Garfunkel for an evening!  It is just that the band has reached deep and done something  very cool, and that is give a special performance and record it for the fans as a keepsake…and they plan on making a gob of money off of it as well. 

Buy it.  Listen to it.  Love it. 

1. Losin' Your Mind
2. The Blessed Hellride
3. Sold My Soul
4. Road Back Home
5. Spoke In the Wheel
6. House Of Doom
7. Queen Of Sorrow
8. Machine Gun Man
9. Sweet Jesus
10. In This River
11. Throwin' It All Away

1. Takillya (Estyabon)
2. Won't Find It Here
3. Rust
4. Speedball
5. I Thank You Child
6. Stillborn
7. Ain't No Sunshine When She's Gone
8. Lovin' Woman
9. Queen Of Sorrow (unplugged)
10. Song For You
11. Won't Find It Here (unplugged)
12. Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

By Jeb Wright