RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

The Mission – The Brightest Light
The End Records


Rating: B

The Mission is back with a new album after taking the musical equivalent of a Rip Van Winkle Nap.   Okay, so it hasn’t been 100 years since they released an album, but it has been an amazing 27 years!  What makes this most exciting is that after the nearly three decade break, the band has returned to their original mission, which was to make killer rock music.  In fact, it’s safe to say that original members Wayne Hussey, Craig Adams and Simon Kinkler and newbie drummer Mike Kelly may have made the best album the band has ever made.

The album starts off with bluesy rocker “Black Cat Bone” making one sit up and pay attention.  There are some damn fine tunes here including the catchy play on words “Born Under a Good Sign” and the fun  “The Girl in the Furskin Rug.” 

The Mission is not going to astound anyone with their technical ability.  There will be no 20 minute Prog Rock intervals of music on this album, but there are boat loads of hooks and riffs and the songwriting is solid throughout.  “Drag” may be the best tune on the disc but the entire album features songs that fit together tightly and harken the listener back for more.

The band is excited about the new album and their upcoming tour of the USA.  They are, indeed, a band on a mission!

01. Black Cat Bone
02. Everything But The Squeal
03. Sometimes The Brightest Light Comes From The Darkest Place
04. Drag
05. Born Under A Good Sign
06. The Girl In The Furskin Rug
07. When The Trap Clicks Shut Behind Us
08. Ain’t No Prayer In The Bible Can Save Me Now
09. Just Another Pawn In Your Game
10. From The Oyster Comes The Pearl
11. Swan Song
12. Litany For The Faithful

By Jeb Wright