RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Jimi Hendrix – Miami Pop Festival
Legacy Recordings

Rating: B

Experience Hendrix LLC in association with Legacy Recordings released a new live in concert Jimi Hendrix album on November 5, 2013.  The show, originally recorded at the two-day Miami Pop festival on May 18, 1968 has never before been released. 

Hendrix was hitting his stride in 1968 and this live set showcases his talents well.  It never gets old hearing new live versions of classic Hendrix tunes and this set is dripping with them.  “Hey Joe,” “Foxey Lady,” “Fire,” “I Don’t Live Today,” “Red House” and “Purple Haze” all are exactly how one would hope…loud, rocking and full of Jimi’s magical guitar playing and unique vocal delivery.  The release includes two bonus tracks from the afternoon set Jimi performed.  They are “Fire” and “Foxey Lady.” 

The set list was not just classics, however, as this concert reveals the first recorded stage performance of lesser known Hendrix tunes “Hear My Train A Comin’” and “Tax Free.”  These songs, mixed with the ones we all know and love, make this a great set of music. 

Also released, separately, on November 5th was the documentary Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train A Comin’ which will be shown on PBS on that date. 

Jim Hendrix ‘Miami Pop Festival’ Track Listing
1. Introduction
2. Hey Joe
3. Foxey Lady
4. Tax Free
5. Fire
6. Hear My Train A Comin
7. I Don’t Live Today
8. Red House
9. Purple Haze
Bonus Performances From Afternoon Show
10. Fire
11. Foxey Lady

By Jeb Wright