RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Little Feat-- Live in Holland, 1976 (CD/DVD)
Eagle Rock Entertainment


Rating: B

Back in 1976, Little Feat were kind of a mix between the Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and The Marshall Tucker Band-- mixed in with their own sound, of course. These guys were southern rockers, country boys, and jazz aficionados all rolled into one band, who loved-- and we mean loved-- to play live.

For the first time ever, this rare concert from June 7, 1976, has been released in a special CD/DVD package. The show is from the Pinkpop Festival in Holland and features the band's classic lineup, featuring Lowell George (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (keyboards, vocals); Richie Hayward (drums); Paul Barrere (vocals, guitar); Sam Clayton (percussion) and Kenny Gradney (bass).

Then, of course, are the songs. The best of the bunch are "Fat Man In A Bathtub," "Rock and Roll Doctor," "Dixie Chicken," "Feats Don't Fail Me Now," "Skin It Back," and "Teenage Nervous Breakdown". The band performs well, not relying on any gimmicks, fancy stage sets, or light show. This is just good music, played by a great group of guys.

The band were rough-looking, unique sounding, and serious about their music. The result is true rock.

Track Listing:
1) Skin It Back
2) Fat Man In A Bathtub
3) One Love Stand*
4) Rock and Roll Doctor
5) Oh, Atlanta*
6) All That You Dream
7) Cold, Cold, Cold
8) Dixie Chicken
9) Tripe Face Boogie
10) Feats Don't Fail Me Now
11) Teenage Nervous Breakdown

*Only available on the CD portion

By Jeb Wright