RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Night Ranger – High Road
Frontiers Records

Rating: B

Night Ranger is back with High Road, an album that stands up with the best they have ever released.  The nucleus of the band, drummer and vocalist Kelly Keagy, guitarist Brad Gillis and vocalist and bassist Jack Blades have crafted a true gem of hard rock, melodic rock mixed in with a few heartfelt ballads and even an epic tune or two. 

Blades sums up the attitude of High Road, “It’s almost summer and a great time to take a trip down High Road! Our new record features classic Night Ranger feel-good, high-energy kick-ass rock n’ roll. We can’t wait for our fans to hear.” Drummer/singer Kelly Keagy adds, “We’re so proud of this new record and excited to get back on the road to bring the new music to our fans.”

Indeed, the title track is a summer time classic, while the next tune, “Knock, Knock Never Stop” is a hard rocker.  “Don’t Live Here Anymore” is a true epic tune sung by Keagy that is perhaps the best overall song on the album.  That said, there are no clunkers as these 11 tunes will keep making you come back to them.  The band is rounded out by Joel Hoekstra (lead & rhythm guitars) and Eric Levy (keyboards) who fit in nicely with the three original members. 

With High Road Night Ranger proves they are not a ‘memory lane’ band.  Sure, they have the classics that will take you there, but they also have a batch of new tunes that will prove that against all odds, they can Still Rock in America in 2014!

Track List:

1. High Road
2. Knock Knock Never Stop
3. Rollin’ On
4. Don’t Live Here Any More
5. I’m Coming Home
6. X Generation
7. Only For You Only
8. Hang On
9. St. Bartholomew
10. Brothers
11. L.A. No Name

By Jeb Wright