RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Cactus – An Evening in Tokyo
Cleopatra Records

Rating: B-

Cactus was considered to be the American answer to England for Led Zeppelin.  The band never lived up to that sort of success, but it was not because they could not play or write.  For whatever reason, Cactus burned out and went away...but they came back, and now they have released a new live album. 

The band toured in 2012 with founding member and drummer Carmine Appice.  Joining him were Jim McCarty, a guitarist formerly for Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels and vocalist Jimmy Junes, former Savoy Brown.  A live show was recorded at the Garden Shimokitazawa Club in Tokyo where Cactus remains popular.  The band was tight and a total delight.  They jammed out tune after tune of bluesy rock and proved that time may have moved on, but the sounds of Cactus are still alive and well.

This is a great concert and a great place to start for those who may have missed Cactus the first time around.  These guys all have amazing musical pedigrees, and they show why they are considered true musicians from the opening note to the ending one. 

For fans of the band, this is simply a must-own and will sit proudly in your collection. 


1. Swim
2. One Way…Or Another
3. Bro. Bill
4. You Can’t Judge A Book By The Cover
5. Alaska
6. Electric Blue
7. Muscle And Soul
8. Evil
9. Parchman Farm
10. Rock N’ Roll Children

By Jeb Wright