RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Bernie Marsden – Shine
Mascot Label Group

Rating: B+

Mostly known as the guy who played with Whitesnake before the band broke big in USA, Bernie Marsden is actually a much larger unsung hero.  In addition to co-writing classic Whitesnake tunes such as “Here I Go Again,” he has performed with UFO, Wild Turkey, Babe Ruth, Paice, Aston & Lord, Cozy Powell’s Hammer and many more. 

Shine is something like his 19th solo album.  See, this guy has been around the block and is just another meat and potatoes guitar player who never got his due in the USA.  He is also a nice man who seems happy with his musical lot in life. 

Bernie keeps churning out rocking bluesy music which his hardcore fans snap up.  Shine, however, just may be among the best he has done.  The album really, err, well, how can I say this…shines!  His playing is as strong as it has ever been before, and one detects gratitude and joy in his performances.  Marsden is simply a class act, and with Shine he is at the top of his game.

Bernie’s musical peers are huge fans and many appear as guests on his latest effort: Joe Bonamassa to Whitesnake singer David Coverdale, and the Deep Purple duo of Ian Paice (drums) and Don Airey (keyboards). Jimmy Copley of Jeff Beck fame behind the kit, and Mark Feltham of Nine Below Zero all play with the guitar guru on Shine.

This is one of those albums where every song is not only good, the tunes get better the deeper into the track listing one wanders. 


1. Linin' Track
2. Wedding Day
3. Walk Away
4. Kinda Wish She Would
5. Ladyfriend
6. Trouble
7. Who Do We Think We Are?
8. Bad Blood
9. Shine
10. Dragonfly
11. You Better Run
12. Hoxie Rollin' Time
13. NW8
By Jeb Wright