RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

The Rolling Stones - From The Vault: Hampton Coliseum Live In 1981
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: B+


From The Vault Hampton Coliseum Live In 1981 is the first in what promises to be many releases ‘from the vault’ that are really just classic Rolling Stones concerts on the label Eagle Rock Entertainment. 

The 2 ½ hour concert has been released on SD Blu-ray, DVD, DVD+2CD and DVD+3LP [Cat Nos ERSBD3016, EREDV1052, EAGDV037, ERDVLP083].  The set-list is incredible and includes many classics, including:  “Under My thumb,” “Let’s Spend The Night Together,” “Shattered,” “Beast Of Burden,” “Tumbling Dice,” “Miss You,” “Brown Sugar,” “Jumping Jack Flash,”””(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” as well as many songs from their then latest studio effort Tattoo You.

The band members were old enough to be grizzled rock and roll road dogs, yet young enough to still have that coolness factor.  They were the shit and they knew it, as crowds packed in to see the band... already a legend, show ’em how it’s done. 

The tour boasted fifty dates, and this show was special because it was Keith Richard’s birthday.  Even then, the world realized just how lucky Keith was to get another one! 

The show is also historical for it being the first concert to be broadcast as a pay-per-view event, showing the Stones, even back in 1981, were keeping one hand on the heart of rock and roll and the other on the bank book. 

This is a classic concert from a classic time.  Damn, this makes me miss the good old days.  I have a feeling when you view it, you will too!


1) Under My Thumb
2) When The Whip Comes Down
3) Let’s Spend The Night Together
4) Shattered
5) Neighbours
6) Black Limousine
7) Just My Imagination
8) Twenty Flight Rock
9) Going To A Go Go
10) Let Me Go
11) Time Is On My Side
12) Beast Of Burden
13) Waiting On A Friend
14) Let It Bleed
15) You Can’t Always Get What You Want
16) Band Introductions
17) Happy Birthday Keith
18) Little T & A
19) Tumbling Dice
20) She’s So Cold
21) Hang Fire
22) Miss You
23) Honky Tonk Women
24) Brown Sugar
25) Start Me Up
26) Jumping Jack Flash
27) (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

By Jeb Wright