RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama  
Eagle Rock Entertainment


Rating: B

Lynyrd Skynyrd is one of the most ferocious live bands to ever take the rock and roll stage and now, for the first time as a stand alone release, the band's 1996 performance on the German TV show Rockpalast has been released by Eagle Rock Entertainment. This show features the lineup of Johnny Van Zant (v), Gary Rossington (g), Rickey Medlocke (g), Hughie Thomasson (g), Billy Powell (k), Leon Wilkeson (b), Owen Hale (d) and Dale Krantz-Rossington (bv) and Carol Chase (bv).  The show was recorded at the Loreley Festival.

The set-list is a solid 14 songs of Southern Fried Rock, and includes such classics as "Sweet Home Alabama," "Free Bird," "Workin' for the MCA," "Saturday Night Special," "That Smell," "Simple Man" and much, much more.  This is a classic Skynyrd lineup that really salutes the entire history of Southern Rock.  The three-guitar lineup at this festival featured Skynyrd founder Gary Rossington, Blackfoot founder Rickey Medlocke and The Outlaws founding member Hughie Thomasson.  The result is a rockin' onslaught that must be played loud and often.

As a bonus, Eagle Rock Entertainment has included three songs from the original Lynyrd Skynyrd lineup of Ronnie Van Zant (v), Gary Rossington (g), Allen Collins (g, v), Ed King (g), Billy Powell (k), Leon Wilkeson (b, v), and Bob Burns (d) recorded in Musikhalle Hamburg on December 5, 1974.  This is an extraordinary find and sees the original band laying down three amazing songs in "Workin' for the MCA," "Free Bird" and "Sweet Home Alabama."

Disc 1:
Workin' For MCA
I Ain't The One
Down South Junkin'
Double Trouble   
I Know A Little   
Saturday Night Special
Swamp Music   
What's Your Name   
That Smell   
Simple Man
Gimme Three Steps   
Call Me The Breeze

Disc 2:
Sweet Home Alabama
Free Bird  

CD Bonus Tracks From Hamburg 1974:
Workin' For MCA 
Free Bird
Sweet Home Alabama

By Jeb Wright