RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Supersonic Blues Machine - West of Flushing, South of Frisco
Mascot Label Group / Provogue Records

Rating: B+

Throw together three long established musicians with a passion for blues along with a parade of extremely talented guest musicians; what do you get? A nasty, down and dirty blues album that reminds you of every fantastic dive bar you’ve ever visited to cry in your whiskey about that long lost girlfriend. That’s what!

Supersonic Blues Machine consists of Lance Lopez, Fabricio Grossi, and Kenny Aronoff. While West of Flushing, South of Frisco is the band’s debut album, it sounds like these guys have been hanging out forever. There is a commonality of purpose in the songs. They’re in perfect sync with each other. West of Flushing, South of Frisco does a wonderful job of showing off the diversity of what is all too often considered a constricted genre of music. The album features everything from a southern blues style to an uptown, all out rock feel. The songs are not overly produced. It is a minimized format that uses only those parts necessary to make the point. They have strong backing vocals when necessary, but the band’s not afraid to leave them out if they’re not needed. This allows the listener to imagine themselves hearing some incredible band performing in a sleazy bar somewhere playing just for them. You know, exactly what the blues are all about!

Even if you have never heard of this band or its veteran members, one look at the guests contributing to this album (see below) should be enough for you give it a listen. One of my favorite tunes on the album is “Running Whiskey” featuring the unmistakable craftsmanship of Billy F. Gibbons. This tight, very cool tune has obvious ZZ Top overtones, but the talent and musicianship of the band is not overwhelmed in ZZ Land. It’s a lot of fun and has a love of the blues presence that is found throughout the album! The song gets another well-deserved reprise near the end of the album as well.

I really enjoy listening to this album. Like a fine wine, or a great blues song, it gets better with every listen. I’m already looking forward to the next album. These guys nailed it. Check ‘em out!

Track Listing:
Miracle Man
I Ain’t Fallin’ Again
Running Whiskey (Feat. Billy F. Gibbons)
Remedy (Feat. Warren Haynes)
Bone Bucket Blues
Let It Be
That’s My Way (Feat. Chris Duarte)
Ain’t No Love (In The Heart Of The City)
Nightmares And Dreams (Feat. Eric Gales)
Can’t Take It No More (Feat. Walter Trout)
Whiskey Time (Running Whiskey’s Extended Ending)
Let’s Call It A Day (Feat. Robben Ford)

By Roy Rahl