RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Michael Schenker’s Temple of Rock – On A Mission Live in Madrid 

Rating: B

After massive worldwide success as a guitar phenomenon in the 1970s, Michael Schenker drifted into the abyss.  He stayed afloat... at times, just barely.  For many years one wondered if he would even physically survive.  Yet, through it all, drunk or sober, crazy or sane, Michael could still play that flying V guitar!

Over the last decade Schenker has, for lack of a better term, finally gotten his shit together.  He has also put together a damn find band that includes the rhythm section he performed with on the Scorpions classic Lovedrive.  Temple of Rock consists of Mr. Schenker (guitar), Doogie White (vocals), Herman Rarebell (drums), Francis Buchholz (bass) and Wayne Findlay (guitar, keyboards).  On November 19, 2015 in Madrid Spain tape was rolling… both audio and video! (Well, possibly imaginary ‘digital’ tape) The result is a professionally shot show that looks and sounds great and is available in a variety of formats (see below).

Schenker is not only performing concerts with his band, Temple of Rock has been recording new music, and on this live effort one can hear the best the Temple has to offer.  This includes the rocking tracks “Where the Wild Winds Blow,” “Vigilante Man ,” “Communion,” “Live and Let Die” and “Before the Devil Knows Your Dead.”  The band pays homage to Michael’s history, and the past of his ex-Scorpion band mates Rarebell and Buchholz as well.  This result is an evening of killer classics from Schenker’s old band UFO, the Scorpions and his solo career. For UFO fans we are talking “Doctor Doctor,” “Lights Out” and “Too Hot to Handle” just to name three.  Scorpions fans will get a kick out of hearing this band take on “Coast to Coast,” “Lovedrive,” “Rock You Like a Hurricane” and “Blackout.”

Temple of Rock is a solid band.  The other musicians on stage keep things tight and give Schenker the freedom to solo his ass off, which is exactly what his fans want to see and hear.  He is sounding better than ever, and it is great to see him embrace his past.  Things are coming together for this band, making this writer hopeful for the next studio effort.

Every Temple of Rock release has been good… here’s hoping the next one is great!  Until then, this live set will keep things plodding along nicely.

On A Mission: Live In Madrid track listing:
Disc 1:

01. Ocean Odyssey – Intro
02. Doctor Doctor
03. Live And Let Live
04. Lights Out
05. Where the Wild Winds Blow
06. Natural Thing
07. Before The Devil Knows You're Dead
08. Victim Of Illusion
09. Lovedrive
10. Coast To Coast
11. Vigilante Man
12. Rock My Nights Away

Disc 2:
01. Saviour Machine
02. Too Hot To Handle
03. Only You Can Rock Me
04. Lord of the Lost and Lonely
05. Rock You Like A Hurricane
06. Rock Bottom
07. Horizons
08. Attack Of The Mad Axeman
09. Communion
10. Blackout

Video Track Listing
1. Ocean Odyssey – Intro
2. Doctor Doctor
3. Live and Let Live
4. Lights Out
5. Where the Wind Blows
6. Natural Thing
7. Before The Devil Knows Your Dead
8. Victim of Illusion
9. Lovedrive
10. Coast To Coast
11. Vigilante Man
12. Rock My Nights Away
13. Saviour Machine
14. Too Hot To Handle
15. Only You Can Rock Me
16. Lord Of The Lost And Lonely
17. Rock You Like A Hurricane
18. Rock Bottom
19. Horizons
20. Attack Of The Mad Axeman
21. Communion
22. Blackout

The concert is available in the following formats:

•       2 CD: INAK 9142
•       2CD DVD: INAK 6193
•       DVD Blu-ray: INAK 7193 BD
•       Limited Deluxe Edition: INAK 2016 LTD
•       BD 4K: INAK 7194 BD4K – as soon as can be manufactured
•       Hi-Res download
•       Download
•       Stream

By Jeb “Ex-Blackout” Wright