RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Steve Vai – 'Modern Primitive' + 'Passion And Warfare 25th Anniversary Edition'
Legacy Recordings

Rating: A

It has been a quarter of a century since Steve Vai told David Lee Roth to suck it and created one of the most definitive guitar albums of all time, celebrated here.  Yes indeed, 25 full calendars have been tossed in the garbage (some with kitties and puppies, others with wheelbarrows filled with flowers, or...) since Passion and Warfare changed how people looked at, and listened to, electric guitars.

Steve simply did, with this album, what Hendrix did when he released his debut offering.  He did what Edward Van Halen did with “Eruption.”  Steve recorded a lot of shit that had never been done before.  Truth be told, it has not really been done as well since.  Even Steve, who is from outer space when it comes to musical talent, has never put this magic back in the bottle like this… though he has come close many times.

With Passion and Warfare Vai created something the world had been waiting for but was not sure it could have.  He went from guitar hero to guitar god at once.  He sees, hears and plays musically differently than anyone else on the planet, which is why this album will always be celebrated with wonder. 

Now, to make this sucker even better… as if that were possible... wait… it is!  First, Vai has remastered this release for the 25th anniversary from the original analog tapes, and has included 4 previously unreleased tracks from the same recording session!

More?? OK... Vai has added to the package Modern Primitive.  These are songs based on works-in-progress and song ideas and sketches that Vai had lying around since his 1984 debut, “Flex-able” (which cannot truly be enjoyed or understood without kick ass headphones or some insane home separates system).  Vai has recently completed these dusty mid-80’s tracks and has added this new disc to the package. These tunes range from jazz to rock to Vai stuff, which are ideas that ONLY Steve Vai could come up with.

Look, the guy is better than good… he’s greater that great. This is his master work with the gray areas of his mind thrown in for good measure. 

There is only one word of caution… if you actually play guitar… after hearing this you may smash your instrument and refuse to ever play it again... I mean, really... what’s the point? 

Yes, he’s that good… and you’re not. Deal with it. 

Modern Primitive / Passion And Warfare 25th Anniversary Edition Track Listing
Modern Primitive

01. Bop!
02. Dark Matter
03. Mighty Messengers
04. The Lost Chord
05. Upanishads
06. Fast Note People
07. And We Are One
08. Never Forever
09. Lights Are On
10. No Pockets
11. Pink and Blows Over: Part 1
12. Pink and Blows Over: Part 2 (Mars Attack)
13. Pink and Blows Over: Part 3 (Jazzbo Paddle-foot)

Passion and Warfare 25th Anniversary Edition
01. Liberty
02. Erotic Nightmares
03. The Animal
04. Answers
05. The Riddle
06. Ballerina 12/24
07. For Love Of God
08. The Audience ls Listening
09. I Would Love To
10. Blue Powder
11. Greasy Kid's Stuff
12. Alien Water Kiss
13. Sisters
14. Love Secrets
15. Lovely Elixir (Bonus)
16. And We Are One (Solo #2) (Bonus)
17. As Above (Bonus)
18. So Below (Bonus)

By Jeb “I Just Smashed My Guitar” Wright