RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Pete Townshend’s Deep End – Face to Face
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: B+

Eagle Rock Entertainment has released a gem of a concert film with Face to Face. This is an amazing band led by one of the all-time greats—hell lots of the members in this band are all-time greats, too!  On top of that, this is first official release of this show on either DVD or CD!

The concert was originally filmed for the German TV show Rockpalast at MIDEM in Cannes on January 29, 1986.  Pete’s Deep End band were touring in support of his solo concept album White City: A Novel.  The album, never a huge hit in America, featured none other than David Gilmour from Pink Floyd performing on guitar.  David also played and sang during this concert, which featured songs from the Townshend album, Who classics and Gilmour’s hit “Blue Light.”  Joining Pete and David on this night were  Peter Hope-Evans (harmonica); Chucho Merchan (bass); John ‘Rabbit’ Bundrick (keyboards); Jody Linscott (percussion); The Kick Horns: Simon Clarke, Roddy Lorimer, Tim Sanders, Pete Beachill & Dave Plews; Backing Vocalists: Billy Nicholls, Ian Ellis, Chris Staines, Gina Foster and Coral Gordan and the incredible, amazing Simon Phillips (Toto/MSG/Protocol) on drums... which is worth the price of admission... and if you play drums, buy 2 copies. To say this was one heck of a band would be an understatement! 

Pete takes this group of musicians and opens this concert with the song “Won’t Get Fooled Again” and blows the place up. Gilmour sheds his Strat and shreds with his flamed Charvel on “Give Blood.” This is a confident group of musicians.  Sure, there are some songs that were on the studio release of White City that few of us in 2016 really care that much about, but when this material is played live by this band with full orchestration it has real energy! There is also plenty of other stuff to love as well...  There is “Behind Blue Eyes,”  “I Put a Spell on You,” “Pinball Wizard” and “Rough Boy” just to name a few tracks.

At the end of the day, this is a cool look at a Pete outside of the Who in the 1980s, singing and dancing with a killer band and an iconic guitarist at his side. 

Rock nerds everywhere will be watching this one again and again… even if there are some cool odd-ball tracks, like “Slit Skirts”!

1. Won’t Get Fooled Again
2. Secondhand Love
3. Give Blood
4. Behind Blue Eyes
5. After The Fire
6. Slit Skirts
7. Blue Light
8. I Put A Spell On You*
9. Hiding Out
10. The Sea Refuses No River
11. Face The Face
12. Pinball Wizard
13. A Little Is Enough
14. Rough Boy
15. Night Train

By Jeb “My Love Opened the Door” Wright