RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Santana – Santana IV Live at the House of Blues, Las Vegas 
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: A

In April of 2016 the classic lineup of Santana reformed and released a new album titled Santana IV.  The album charted in the Top 10 around the globe and gave to the world the unique sounds that made the band a household name.  The reunion was done at the long urging of Santana and Journey guitarist Neal Schon.  What seemed like a miracle occurred as Schon was able to bring Carlos Santana (guitar, vocals); Neal Schon (guitar, vocals); Gregg Rolie (hammond B3, lead vocals); Michael Shrieve (drums) & Michael Carabello (congas, percussion, backing vocals), joined by Karl Perazzo (percussion, vocals), Benny Rietveld (bass) and David K. Mathews (keyboards) together for an special performance. There is even a guest appearance by the vocalist Ronald Isley.

A few weeks before the release of the album the band performed at the House of Blues in Las Vegas, on March 21st.  What a show it was!  Carlos was the ringleader while Gregg Rolie blasted out classic songs and made classic sounds.  The crowd was treated to several of the new songs as well as timeless classics including “Jingo,” “Soul Sacrifice,” “Samba Pa Ti,” “Black Magic Woman,” “Evil Ways” and “Oye Como Va.”  Dramatically, as the band played the first few songs Schon was nowhere to be seen.  Finally, Carlos introduced him and the crowd went wild.  The music on this night was mystifying and magical and each band member put all of his blood, sweat and tears into their performance.

The dynamics are great on stage.  Carlos is still a cool cat, with a hat and his playing, while not as fluid as it was in 1969, still packs a punch.  Neal Schon is still amazing and he added a lot to this gig.  Rolie was a star on this night as he is a class act both on and off stage.  The rhythm section, always a treat at a Santana concert, weaved their magic all night long.  The crowd had to dance…it was beyond their will try and stop their bodies from swaying to the music. 

This is a great concert that you will listen to again and again.  Bonus features include in-depth interviews on the reunion from the band.

Eagle Rock Records, once again, knocked this one out of the park. 

If you like Santana then you will own this…no doubt about it.  You will also love it. 

1) Soul Sacrifice
2) Jingo
3) Evil Ways
4) Everybody’s Everything
5) Shake It
6) Anywhere You Want To Go
7) Medley: Choo Choo / All Aboard
8) Samba Pa Ti
9) Medley: Batuka / No One To Depend On
10) Leave Me Alone
11) Sueños
12) Caminando
13) Medley: Blues Magic / Echizo
14) Come As You Are
15) Yambu
16) Medley: Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen / Oye Como Va
17) Medley: Love Makes The World Go Round (w/ Ronald Isley)
18) Freedom In Your Mind (w/ Ronald Isley)
19) Toussaint L’Overture

By Jeb “Jingo” Wright